Race Club


Screen Shot 2018-10-20 at 5.28.23 PM.png


Leanne Backwell

Horses have played a large role in Leanne’s life. She has been breeding and racing thoroughbreds for over 25 years.

Although new to Mansfield, Leanne has considerable experience with community and sporting organisations, including Pony Club Association Victoria, Agricultural Societies and Football/Netball in the AFL Goldfields region.

Leanne studied Eduction and Journalism and has worked extensively in both fields. She later combined the two for a long career in Public Relations and Community Management in the Independent Schools sector.

Leanne and her husband Jonathan have two adult daughters, Alice and Edwina. All are keen racegoers with a love of the pastoral industry.

20180530 David Roff 2_edited.jpg


David Roff

David has extensive experience in local government including 8 years as CEO of Mansfield Shire.


He sits on several boards and is currently Chairman of the Goulburn Valley Football Netball league.


He and his wife Kathy live at Goughs Bay and part own several thoroughbreds including listed race winner Moonlight Hussler.


David looks forward to his love of Mansfield , strong governance experience and interest in racing being put to good use.


Lyn Wright

Screen Shot 2018-10-20 at 5.30.24 PM.png


Wes Mudge

Wes Mudge has had an association with Mansfield for 40+ years and move to Mansfield in 2018 to pursue his interests in the outdoors more regularly.  Previously, Wes was a business Partner in an Accounting Firm in Melbourne’s CBD. 


He joined the committee of the MDRC in 2018, providing an opportunity to again participate in a volunteer capacity within the community, having actively done so in Melbourne for over 15+ years. 


The engagement with MDRC continues his interest in horse racing, having been involved in horse syndication with friends run by Brad Spicer and a member of the VRC.  




Noel is a retired Business Systems Analyst, born in Traralgon, whose parents were born and raised in the Mansfield area. He has maintained a strong affinity with the district, purchasing a small farm in Booroolite in 2001. He is an active member of the Merrijig CFA‚ Merrijig Hall Committee and inaugural committee member of Mansfield Relay for Life. Noel has been a steering committee and Board member of the Community Bank® since inception in 2006. Noel has enjoyed a varied career including three decades in executive roles in the family Transport & Concrete Business providing nationwide reach. Noel retired from Holcim Australia Ltd in 2010 and now concentrates on cattle grazing and is an active partner in a local garden design business.



Born and Bred in the High Country with strong ancestry in the area and a very active member of the local community. With a passion for Real Estate she has developed strong relationships with a broad range of the community. Outside of work, Allana adores spending time with her children and fostering her love of animals through breeding miniature belted Galloway cattle.




Belinda De Maria has managed various businesses over the last decade with her most recent venture in the cosmetics and tanning industry. As the head of belindademaria.com.au she splits her time between Melbourne and Mansfield.

Originating from country Victoria, Belinda has a strong sense of community. She has been an active member on the Mansfield Football Netball Club committee for 3 years, assuming the position of Vice President in 2019.  Belinda continues to support numerous charities in the local community including the recent ‘Buy A Bale’ campaign for farmers in need. As well as various other Melbourne based Charities.  

As part of her ongoing commitment to supporting and helping community organisations in Mansfield, Belinda is thrilled to be a part of Mansfield District Race Club and is looking forward to playing an active role in the ongoing success of country racing in the district.